Restaurant Reviews from April 2010

April 2010 Restaurant Reviews Archive from Foodepedia

  • La Stazione, Ryries Bar, Haymarket, Edinburgh

    Thursday April 29th, 2010

    La Stazione is an Italian osteria/trattoria. It is sat immediately above Ryries Bar, an old Scottish pub that has been in operation since the 1860s, in a building that dates back to the 1749.  La Stazione is a good local eatery, while there we noticed a number of tables occupied by tourists, like us, but it seemed clear that there were a good number of local customers, it is a popular place and rightly so.

  • The Bank, Adamo Hotel, Stirling

    Thursday April 29th, 2010

    The Adamo Hotel in Stirling is an imposing building, having been converted from its previous incarnation as a bank, it seems quite natural that they should give that name to their restaurant, which occupies much its ground floor space, together with a bar and lounge area.  The Bank is a relaxed haven serving good food and is certainly a place to visit.

  • Bistro Bruno Loubet, London

    Thursday April 29th, 2010

    I wasn’t in town the first time round when Loubet was doing his thing at Bistro Bruno and L’Odeon, but I’ll certainly join in with the ‘welcome back’ chorus. Just as long as the chef keeps busting out dishes like the Mauricette snails...

  • Viajante, London

    Wednesday April 28th, 2010

    Viajante is not your average eatery, let’s be honest… it is more of an ‘experience’ than a run-of-the-mill restaurant, but it is quite special indeed.  I think that it is definitely somewhere that the consummate foodies among you should experience before it becomes too trendy, too popular and too impossible to get a reservation at.

  • Le Garrick, Covent Garden, London

    Monday April 26th, 2010

    No one’s looking for Michelin Stars at Le Garrick; it exists to serve well-priced., well-cooked food in a cosy, clubby, environment. And it is very well-priced particularly at lunchtime with set menus. They’ve launched the Lunch Club which gives a 10% discount off a lunch bill to all members. Membership is free, so what’s not to like about that?

  • L'Anima, London

    Thursday April 22nd, 2010

    The Italian chef and man of the moment, Francesco Mazzei is cooking up a Calabrian storm at L'Anima, his city restaurant. But as Isobel Cripps finds out, sometimes all the PR hype and pre-conceived romanticisms can leave you feeling disenchanted.

  • Inamo,London

    Thursday April 22nd, 2010

    “Maybe we’re not the demographic they’re aiming at,” says C, kindly. I am grasping and confused, sensory faculties aghast, mind rollicking. OK, it’s not quite that bad but I feel a bit luddite here at Inamo, the hi-tec Soho restaurant where the menus are interactive, and you can webcam into the kitchen from your table top.

  • Medcalf, Exmouth Market, London

    Wednesday April 21st, 2010

    Medcalf’s home is in the middle of the trendy Exmouth Market. I’ve already become a fan of the strip, which possesses a great selection of bars and restaurants that let their produce do the talking. That’s the essence of the market, no frills or pretentiousness here, and Medcalf is a brilliant example.

  • The Mall Tavern

    Monday April 19th, 2010

    All in all, we enjoyed. There did seem to be a tendency to fritterise… were the ‘70s solely a decade of breadcrumbs? But Jesse’s keen, the place is rammed, the menu keeps changing and everyone looks jolly. It’s fun, reasonably-priced and will surely draw votes this election.

  • The Old Brewery, Greenwich

    Friday April 16th, 2010

    I liked the Old Brewery, what they are doing and how they are doing it. The beers are made with care and attention, the beer garden looks promising for the summer, and the food has a cheerful solidity and lack of pretension that fits the restaurant like a well-worn doublet and hose. Henry would have liked it to, but would he have objected to any heads on his beer?

  • Hix Soho, London

    Thursday April 15th, 2010

    What is it with the bloody front door at Hix Soho? Every time I go there I have to fight the thing to get in. I’m not alone either, I often go past the place and see would be punters shoulder-charging the door and bouncing off again. No visible handle and some kind of damper system seems to be the problem, but that’s what you get when you take over an old Japanese place I suppose. Inscrutable technology.

  • Texture, London

    Wednesday April 14th, 2010

    The menu is largely straightforward and unpretentious and each dish takes a handful of great ingredients and fuses them together to make something uncomplicated, unfussy but utterly delicious.  These are just the kind of things that illustrate exactly why Texture were one of just six restaurants to be awarded a Michelin star this year and deservedly so.

  • Gow’s, Old Broad Street, London

    Tuesday April 13th, 2010

    My first call at Gow’s was a few weeks back for a few bar snacks. Expecting nothing more than a cup of coffee and a packet or two of crisps and nuts, I was more than impressed with the plates of soft quail eggs, crumbly pork pies and heavily filled sandwich platters that arrived in minutes, leaving me with the notion that this place would swiftly become a favourite. I returned not long after with a friend and shared a good value fish platter.

  • The Bull, Westfield

    Monday April 12th, 2010

    It is safe to say that The Bull is a restaurant whose success relies upon the convenience of its location. This is not a destination eatery; there won’t be a foodie pilgrimage to the Westfield. The Bull is a pub that does food rather than a ‘gastro pub’. But if you fancy a burger and a beer after conquering the commercial juggernaut, and you don’t go in with any great expectations, then you will probably have a fine time. Hopefully the Ham Hock Hash will still be on the menu.

  • Va Bene. Soho, London

    Saturday April 10th, 2010

    ‘Va Bene’…….roughly translated means, ‘ok’. Somehow this seems a rather inappropriate name for this Italian restaurant, as it’s more than ‘ok’. Va Bene in Brewer Street, Soho, typifies what people fundamentally love about Italian dining – charm, character and warm hospitality, with homemade pasta like your Mamma used to make…….

     

  • Kensington Square Kitchen, Kensington Square, London,

    Tuesday April 6th, 2010

    One of the best things about living in London is that there's always something new to discover, and last week, behind the old Barkers building, we found Kensington Square, a little haven on tranquility, yet within sight of the ever-busy High Street. We were charmed at once.

  • The Chili Chutney, Streatham, London

    Tuesday April 6th, 2010

    Chilli Chutney has three branches; the mothership in Streatham, one next to the London Eye and another one in Croydon. They seem to me to be serious about what they are doing and keen to succeed. It’s not just my desire to see Streatham rise in the rankings, although a house price boom would be very handy, that makes me say that Chili Chutney is worth checking out if you’re looking for an above average local curry house to be your regular.

  • Monsieur M, Shoreditch, London

    Tuesday April 6th, 2010

    There’s a parade of rickety cutesy and authentic Vietnamese restaurants clustered down the Shoreditch end of Kingsland Road in London’s Hackney. They’re cheap, run by Vietnamese people – many originally refugees – and functional. Shoreditch’s fashion pack use them to chow down before drinking or just as a reminder of their hols to far off lands. But round the corner, in the beautiful Grade II listed Shoreditch Town Hall, Monsieur M is mounting a challenge to them all.

  • Yauatcha: Decadent Dim Sum

    Monday April 5th, 2010

    From minimalistic canteens, Wagamama and Busaba Eathai, to artisan bakery Princi and this chic teahouse, Alan Yau OBE has proved himself the archetypal, architect restaurateur. It’s tempting to call him the Asian ‘Conran’. But unlike Sir Terence, he’s an ace at collaborating revolutionary restaurant design with pristine plates; marrying a satisfying palette with a gratifying palate...

  • The Pear Tree, Margravine Road, London

    Sunday April 4th, 2010

    The Pear Tree pretty much epitomises the archetypal ‘local’. This early Victorian pub stands out, surrounded as it is by somewhat more modern flats and houses.  It is true to say that it is a work in progress, with its continuing restorative work. The place is already a popular haunt for locals and I can see that developing, as well as the prospect of attracting those further afield.

  • The Forge, London

    Saturday April 3rd, 2010

    Covent Garden isn’t all about jugglers and tourist traps you know, there are some pleasant surprises along the way if you wander for long enough.The Forge is not only a smart, grown up restaurant with chef Andrew Barber at the helm,but it also boasts one of London's most impressive wine lists. So, go there thirsty, with plenty of time on your hands........

     

  • Pho, Great Titchfield Street, London

    Friday April 2nd, 2010

    Tucked away behind Oxford Circus, we brave the horrendous downpour of heavy rain on a grim Saturday afternoon to visit Pho, serving Vietnamese ‘street food’.  The menu here is simple and a few of the really interesting sounding dishes are only available in the evening, which is a bit of a drag.