Restaurant Reviews from November 2010

November 2010 Restaurant Reviews Archive from Foodepedia

  • The Harbour Master, Aberaeron

    Tuesday November 30th, 2010

    Having a cracking restaurant within a short car journey when you’re away from home is handier than a pocket on a shirt. That’s precisely what I have when my path leads me back to Aberystwyth. A short drive along a coastal road and you arrive in the seaside town of Aberaeron, once one of the main trading ports along the Cardigan Bay coast.

  • Hard Rock Cafe

    Saturday November 27th, 2010

    Before the burger became fashionable and big steaks become big draws, you only had one choice for a for a fix of American easy-eating. The Hard Rock Cafe. Joanna Biddolph fails to find her flared jeans to wear for the occasion but otherwise enjoys travelling back to the 70's for a plateful of nostalgia.

  • Hard Rock cafe

    Friday November 26th, 2010

    If only I could get into my loft – piled high from the entrance to the back – to dig out diaries from my late teens and early 20s. Did I first go to the Hard Rock Café between school and travelling or after I got back from my not quite two year north American trip?

  • Elena’s L’Etoile,

    Friday November 26th, 2010

    Elena’s L’Etoile, with its bistro charm, kicks out naughty frills and Frenchness like the can-can. Its eclectic and Art Deco decoration includes random brass wall inlays and two stained glass windows inserted in the ceiling. Pictures of actors and slebs – not all visitors – plaster the tobacco-coloured walls. Diners are respectable, good-humoured, full of bonhomie.

  • Degò, Great Portland Street, London W1

    Wednesday November 24th, 2010

    This new restaurant opened on the Market Place corner of Portland House in mid October. Our experience at Degò, was very enjoyable, their food is beautifully presented in its simplicity, excellent quality and tasty.  The restaurant has an intimate atmosphere and a stylish, comfortable feel, it's a great place to go both for quiet dinners with someone special or in a larger party.

  • Look out, here comes truffle!

    Monday November 22nd, 2010

    With white truffle selling for around 10,200 euro per kilogram - actually a low price relatively speaking as the harvest is good this year - you don’t want to be shaving your slices on any old dish. Only the best will do and at Refettorio they know exactly how to bring out every nuance of the ultimate luxury ingredient with a special truffle menu available while the season and supplies last.

  • Roux at Parliament Square

    Saturday November 20th, 2010

    The room, as many have already rather sniffily remarked, is a bit odd. It’s reminiscent of attempts to recreate a Georgian sitting room in a Barrett’s home. Of course the fireplaces here are the real thing, not made of plastic, and yet the impression lingers. It’s not unpleasant, far from it, but it does strike a slightly wrong note. Thankfully the food is good enough to distract you from the décor.

  • Made in Camden

    Friday November 19th, 2010

    Made in Camden sits neatly between west London me and several north London friends and I will be steering them swiftly into it. A very short walk from Chalk Farm tube station, it’s the new bar and dining room at The Roundhouse. No, it doesn’t have that sterile, safe, tacked-on-to-something-corporate feel so typical of in-theatre restaurants and bars.

  • Juniper Dining London

    Friday November 19th, 2010

    Yorkshire-born chef Rob Wilkinson has set up his restaurant Juniper in Highbury to please his Arsenal-loving wife. Having worked through a clutch of Manchester restaurants before a stint at Boisdale Bishopsgate, Wilkinson now heads Juniper’s kitchen while his father-in-law does the accounts – a true family-run restaurant.

  • The Basement Bar and Restaurant, Broughton Street, Edinburgh

    Thursday November 18th, 2010

    The Basement is one of those places where you want to hover in the kitchen and taste everything that hits the pass. As you clock every dish heading for nearby tables it is easy to dither and even harder not to trawl the other tables asking for a forkful as it all looks so good.

  • Hawksmoor Covent Garden

    Sunday November 14th, 2010

    Steak dining is easy eating, undemanding and satisfying and what first lured suburban Britain out of its 70's sitting rooms and into restaurants in the first place. Now anointed by the Internet it clearly meets a new metro-urban need and Hawksmoor have their finger firmly on the pulse, successfully mainlining quality meat to the multitude.

  • The Duchess of Kent, Islington

    Thursday November 11th, 2010

    There’s a bit of a dearth of good pubs around Highbury & Islington train station in London. You can take your pick from a jiggy but rammed theatre pub, a brawly boozer full of reddened baldheads or a freezing warehouse bar. Tempted? But if you poke behind the side streets, there’s a decent gastropub and a bit of a secret.

  • Bincho Yakitori, Old Compton Street

    Wednesday November 10th, 2010

    Bincho Yakitori on Old Compton Street is a modern Japanese restaurant specialising in Yakitori, surprisingly enough. The concept at Bincho Yakitori is simple; put it on a stick, grill it, sauce it.

  • Christopher’s American Bar and Grill

    Tuesday November 9th, 2010

    It was, I think, the eminent sage and philosopher Russ Abbott who first put forward the suggestion that we all love a party with a happy atmosphere. As so often in his glittering philosophical career, he hit the nail bang on the head.

  • Alibi, Mojacar

    Monday November 8th, 2010

    It’s every critics dream to stumble across a diamond in the rough of the culinary world. We all try and locate the next big sensation or discover a superstar chef in the making, probably to enjoy the selfish euphoria of the words “I told you so”. Yet from time to time it’s possible to just stumble upon a venue with no real expectations, only to be bowled over by the no frills attitude with taste sensations.

  • Cowboy Cocina, Mojacar

    Monday November 8th, 2010

    A small side salad arrives first to whet the appetite, made with fresh vegetables, topped with homemade coleslaw and crunchy croutons. It’s really good, crunchy and fresh, but then the monster combos arrive. Each plate contains two giant spare ribs, a sizeable portion of pulled pork.

  • Royal China, Baker Street, London W1

    Monday November 8th, 2010

    Just a short walk up Baker Street from Portman Square, Royal China is little more than a stone’s throw from Selfridges in Oxford Street.  We enjoyed our meal there immensely. I would urge any lover of Chinese food to go there.

  • Les Deux Salons, Covent Garden

    Thursday November 4th, 2010

    It's encouraging, the arrival of more and more restaurants where the emphasis is on flavour and value, not seeing how many micro basil leaves chef can make dance on the head of a pin. Antony Demetre has his Michelin stars, but more importantly he has his eye on the culinary ball.